Midjourney
Is Midjourney a zero-employee company? No. Midjourney is a self-funded company with dozens of employees (about 40 reported in 2023 and 60 per Forbes in April 2026), so it is an ultra-lean benchmark, not a zero-employee company.
Midjourney, Inc. is a San Francisco-based, self-described independent research lab that sells subscription access to a generative AI service that creates images and video from text prompts. The service first launched as a bot inside Discord and is now also offered through its own website.
www.midjourney.comFounded by David Holz[7],[8],[1]
Zero-Employee Score
—/ 100
- Confidence
- Low
- Observable
- 25%
Key facts
- Classification
- Ultra-Lean
- A small human team with exceptional AI and software leverage.
- Latest supported valuation
- Unknown?
Grade ? · Unknown
No usable evidence. The value is not published.
No supported evidence. This value is not published.
- unknown
- Revenue evidence
- ≥$200M revenue (2023)A
Grade A · Externally verified
Audited, regulatory or transaction-level evidence.
- Metric
- Revenue
- As stated
- “"surpassed $200 million in revenue in 2023" (admitted by Midjourney)”
- Qualifier
- At least
- Period
- 2023
- Claim date
- 7 Oct 2025
- Notes
- Paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint alleges Midjourney 'surpassed $200 million in revenue in 2023'. In its answer, Midjourney 'denies that it earned $300 million in 2024' and 'admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61'. This is a judicial admission in a federal court pleading signed by counsel. It is not audited, and it gives only a lower bound.
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · 4 Sep 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations. Paragraph 61 is the one Midjourney's answer responds to (admitted except the 2024 revenue figure).
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Defendant Midjourney, Inc.'s Answer to Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376-JAK-E, Dkt. 15
Regulatory filing · 7 Oct 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Filed by Cooley LLP for Midjourney. Its response to paragraph 61: 'Midjourney denies that it earned $300 million in 2024. Midjourney admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61.'
- stale7 Oct 2025
- Founders
- 1A
Grade A · Externally verified
Audited, regulatory or transaction-level evidence.
- Metric
- Founders
- As stated
- “founded in 2021 by David Holz, its Chief Executive Officer”
- Claim date
- 7 Oct 2025
- Notes
- Paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint (filed 2025-09-04) says Midjourney 'was founded in 2021 by David Holz'. In its answer (filed 2025-10-07), Midjourney admitted that paragraph except for the $300M 2024 revenue figure. This is a judicial admission by the company, not an audited fact. No co-founder is named in any source opened.
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · 4 Sep 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations. Paragraph 61 is the one Midjourney's answer responds to (admitted except the 2024 revenue figure).
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Defendant Midjourney, Inc.'s Answer to Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376-JAK-E, Dkt. 15
Regulatory filing · 7 Oct 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Filed by Cooley LLP for Midjourney. Its response to paragraph 61: 'Midjourney denies that it earned $300 million in 2024. Midjourney admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61.'
- stale7 Oct 2025
- Employees
- ~39C
Grade C · First-party
Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
- Metric
- Employees
- As stated
- “"$200 million in annual revenue with just 40 employees"”
- Qualifier
- Approximate
- Period
- 2023
- Claim date
- 6 Sep 2023
- Derived
- Team size 40 minus 1 founder
- Notes
- Originally reported by The Information (Kate Clark; paywalled, so only the headline and byline were seen), citing 'a source close to the company' per The Decoder. Graded C rather than B because only one outlet did original reporting and it relied on an anonymous source. Recorded as total_team_size because the press figure probably counts everyone, including the founder.
- The Decoder: Midjourney generates $200 million in revenue and adds Web support with v6
Independent press · 6 Sep 2023 · checked 16 Oct 2026
By Matthias Bastian. Relays The Information ('which cites a source close to the company'); no independent reporting of its own.
- The Information: 'He Doesn't Need VC in His Life': How Midjourney's Founder Built an AI Winner While Rejecting Venture Capital
Independent press · Undated · checked 16 Oct 2026
By Kate Clark. Paywalled: only the headline and byline were visible. The publication date is not visible but must be on or before 2023-09-06, when The Decoder cited it. Figures come from The Decoder's summary.
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · 4 Sep 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations. Paragraph 61 is the one Midjourney's answer responds to (admitted except the 2024 revenue figure).
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Defendant Midjourney, Inc.'s Answer to Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376-JAK-E, Dkt. 15
Regulatory filing · 7 Oct 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Filed by Cooley LLP for Midjourney. Its response to paragraph 61: 'Midjourney denies that it earned $300 million in 2024. Midjourney admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61.'
- stale6 Sep 2023
- Contractors
- Unknown
- Recurring contractors, where disclosed
- Revenue per human
- ≥$5MC
Grade C · First-party
Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
- Metric
- Revenue per human
- Derived
- Annualised revenue (annual revenue) ÷ 40 founders + employees
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · 4 Sep 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations. Paragraph 61 is the one Midjourney's answer responds to (admitted except the 2024 revenue figure).
- U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP): Defendant Midjourney, Inc.'s Answer to Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376-JAK-E, Dkt. 15
Regulatory filing · 7 Oct 2025 · checked 16 Oct 2026
Filed by Cooley LLP for Midjourney. Its response to paragraph 61: 'Midjourney denies that it earned $300 million in 2024. Midjourney admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61.'
- The Decoder: Midjourney generates $200 million in revenue and adds Web support with v6
Independent press · 6 Sep 2023 · checked 16 Oct 2026
By Matthias Bastian. Relays The Information ('which cites a source close to the company'); no independent reporting of its own.
- The Information: 'He Doesn't Need VC in His Life': How Midjourney's Founder Built an AI Winner While Rejecting Venture Capital
Independent press · Undated · checked 16 Oct 2026
By Kate Clark. Paywalled: only the headline and byline were visible. The publication date is not visible but must be on or before 2023-09-06, when The Decoder cited it. Figures come from The Decoder's summary.
- Annualised revenue (annual revenue) ÷ 40 founders + employees
- Founder hours / week
- Unknown?
Grade ? · Unknown
No usable evidence. The value is not published.
No supported evidence. This value is not published.
- unknown
- Last verified
- 16 Oct 2026
- Next review 14 Jan 2027
Autonomy map
How each function is executed
Rated only where a source describes the function. Unknown is not low.
- EngineeringHuman
The company website (Oct 2022 capture) lists a named human 'Research and Engineering' team and was hiring AI researchers and engineers. No source describes AI agents doing engineering work.[3]
- ProductUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- MarketingUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- SalesUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- SupportUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- FinanceUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- LegalUnknown
No source describes how this function is executed.
- OperationsHuman
Content moderation was done by people. In 2022 The Register reported 'about 40 moderators keeping an eye on the images that users create', and the website listed Discord moderators and guides by handle. Their employment status is not stated.[1],[3]
Zero-Employee Score
Score components
Computed by the same deterministic model as the calculator, using only evidenced inputs.
| Component | Weight | Input | Score | Points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Recurring workflow automation | 20% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Human-headcount dependence | 15% | 39 employees | 5 | 0.8 |
| Founder intervention | 15% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Agent decision autonomy | 15% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Contractor dependence | 10% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Revenue per human | 10% | $5.0M / human | 90 | 9.0 |
| AI & software economics | 5% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Approval burden | 5% | Unknown | ? | — |
| Operational resilience | 5% | Unknown | ? | — |
Operating model
How the company operates
Midjourney sells subscriptions to its image (and later video) generation service. The service launched in February 2022 as a bot inside Discord and was later offered on midjourney.com; Midjourney admitted these release facts in court. In 2022 the company described itself as 'a small, self-funded, fully-distributed team'. The Information reported that much of its revenue goes to compute and that it pays Discord a per-user revenue share.[3],[4],[7],[8]
In 2026 Midjourney began expanding beyond its core service. It announced its first acquisition, the astrology app Co-Star (deal closed in spring 2026 per Bloomberg), and said it was hiring.[14],[15]
Founder responsibilities
- David Holz is founder and CEO. In 2022 he described running voice 'office hours' where he would 'sit on voice for four hours with like 1,000 people and just answer questions'.[2],[8]
- Holz personally announced the company's first acquisition (Co-Star) on the Midjourney updates blog and said he would need help to build 'a broader organization around Product and Design'.[14]
Stack
AI & software stack
- Engineering
- JAX[3]
Timeline
2021
Midjourney founded by David Holz (admitted in court filing).[7],[8]
Feb 2022
Image service first launched as a bot inside Discord (alleged by plaintiffs; Midjourney admitted the allegations about its releases).[7],[8]
1 Aug 2022
Holz tells The Register the company is 'about 10 people', self-funded with no investors, and already profitable.[1]
Sep 2023
The Information reports about $200M in annual revenue with about 40 employees and no outside investors.[4],[5]
11 Jun 2025
Disney and Universal sue Midjourney for copyright infringement; the complaint alleges $300M revenue in 2024.[6]
22 Aug 2025
Meta announces a licensing partnership with Midjourney; Holz says Midjourney remains independent 'with no investors'.[9],[10]
4 Sep 2025
Warner Bros. Discovery entities sue Midjourney.[7]
7 Oct 2025
In its answer, Midjourney denies earning $300M in 2024 but admits it surpassed $200M revenue in 2023 and had nearly 21M users as of September 2024.[8]
23 Jul 2026
Midjourney announces its first acquisition, Co-Star; Bloomberg reports the deal closed in spring 2026.[14],[15]
Provenance
Evidence table
Every observation we hold, newest first, as stated by the source. Conflicting claims are kept side by side.
| Date | Metric | Value / claim | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 Oct 2026 | Team size | “"approximately 40-45 employees"” Sacra page, undated, with no stated basis. It appears to repeat the 2023 reporting. The value is null because the source gives a range. Undated source; date shown is when we accessed it. | Sacra [13] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 16 Oct 2026 | Funding raised period 2025 | “Funding box: "$50.00M" (2025)” Unsupported. Sacra's own text on the same page says Midjourney 'has not raised external funding and remains completely self-funded since its founding in 2021'. No source opened reports any funding round, so this looks like a database error. Recorded only to flag it. Undated source; date shown is when we accessed it. | Sacra [13] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 13 Oct 2026 | Team size period 2025 | “"down from 107 a year earlier"” Aggregator (Latka) figure with no stated basis. It conflicts with other estimates, including Sacra's undated '40-45 employees' and LinkedIn-derived counts quoted by low-quality sites, which were not opened. Recorded only because it is often repeated. Do not rely on it. | Latka (GetLatka) [12] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 13 Oct 2026 | Annual revenue period 2025 | “$500M (estimate), May 2025, attributed to 'ARR Club'” Aggregator (Latka) table entry marked as an estimate and attributed to 'ARR Club'. On the same page, Latka calls the January 2024 $200M figure (Bloomberg) 'the most recent reported figure'. No company or independent confirmation found. Treat as unverified. | Latka (GetLatka) [12] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 16 Apr 2026 | Team size period 2026-04 | “Employees: 60 (as of April 2026)” Figure from the Forbes company-profile database ('Last Updated Apr 16, 2026'). Forbes does not say whether the number came from the company or is its own estimate, and Latka calls it a 'Forbes estimate'. It predates the Co-Star acquisition: Midjourney announced the deal on 2026-07-23 and said it closed in spring 2026. One trade site says Co-Star's team of around two dozen joined Midjourney, but that site gives no source. | Forbes [11] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 16 Apr 2026 | Annual revenue period 2024 | “"$300 million in total revenue in the 2024 fiscal year, according to PitchBook"” Forbes company profile attributing the figure to PitchBook, a database estimate. Midjourney denied earning $300M in 2024 in its 2025-10-07 court answer. | Forbes [11] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 16 Apr 2026 | Funding raised period 2025-2026 | “"has never taken on outside funding" (TechCrunch); "has so far shunned any outside funding" (Forbes)” Several credible outlets state in their own voice that Midjourney has taken no outside funding: TechCrunch (2025-08-22), Forbes (profile updated 2026-04-16), and The Information (2023 headline: 'Built an AI Winner While Rejecting Venture Capital'). No funding round was found in any source opened. Absence of outside funding cannot be audited from public records, so this rests on consistent reporting plus company statements. | TechCrunch [10] Forbes [11] The Information [5] | B Grade B · Strongly corroborated Several credible independent sources, or third-party verified data.
|
| 16 Apr 2026 | Profitability period 2026 | “Midjourney "is profitable" (Forbes profile)” Statement in the Forbes company profile. No basis given. | Forbes [11] | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
|
| 7 Oct 2025 | Founders | “founded in 2021 by David Holz, its Chief Executive Officer” Paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint (filed 2025-09-04) says Midjourney 'was founded in 2021 by David Holz'. In its answer (filed 2025-10-07), Midjourney admitted that paragraph except for the $300M 2024 revenue figure. This is a judicial admission by the company, not an audited fact. No co-founder is named in any source opened. | A Grade A · Externally verified Audited, regulatory or transaction-level evidence.
| |
| 7 Oct 2025 | Annual revenue period 2023 | “"surpassed $200 million in revenue in 2023" (admitted by Midjourney)” Paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint alleges Midjourney 'surpassed $200 million in revenue in 2023'. In its answer, Midjourney 'denies that it earned $300 million in 2024' and 'admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61'. This is a judicial admission in a federal court pleading signed by counsel. It is not audited, and it gives only a lower bound. | A Grade A · Externally verified Audited, regulatory or transaction-level evidence.
| |
| 7 Oct 2025 | Users period 2024-09 | “"nearly 21 million users as of September 2024" (admitted)” Part of paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint, which Midjourney admitted apart from the 2024 revenue figure. 'Users' is not defined. The plaintiffs' footnote cites TechCrunch and statistics sites, so the figure may count Discord community members rather than paying subscribers. | A Grade A · Externally verified Audited, regulatory or transaction-level evidence.
| |
| 22 Aug 2025 | Funding raised period 2025-08 | “"We remain an independent, community-backed research lab, with no investors"” David Holz's X post on the day Meta announced a licensing partnership with Midjourney. The deal's financial terms were not disclosed. | X (@DavidSHolz) [9] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 11 Jun 2025 | Annual revenue period 2024 | “"reportedly made $300 million in revenue in 2024" (plaintiffs' allegation)” Allegation in the Disney/Universal complaint (paragraph 74; repeated in paragraph 61 of the Warner Bros. complaint). Its footnote cites TechCrunch, DemandSage (a statistics blog) and SEO.AI, not company data. Midjourney 'denies that it earned $300 million in 2024' in its 2025-10-07 answer and did not state an alternative figure. Widely repeated, but disputed by the company. | D Grade D · Weak / unverified A secondary claim without traceable primary support.
| |
| 6 Sep 2023 | Team size period 2023 | “"$200 million in annual revenue with just 40 employees"” Originally reported by The Information (Kate Clark; paywalled, so only the headline and byline were seen), citing 'a source close to the company' per The Decoder. Graded C rather than B because only one outlet did original reporting and it relied on an anonymous source. Recorded as total_team_size because the press figure probably counts everyone, including the founder. | The Decoder [4] The Information [5] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 6 Sep 2023 | Annual revenue period 2023 | “"Midjourney achieved $200 million in annual revenue" (per The Information)” The Decoder relays The Information, which cited a source close to the company. The Decoder also reports, again citing The Information, that Midjourney 'has to pay a per-user revenue share to Discord'. The 2025 court admission above corroborates the figure. | The Decoder [4] The Information [5] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 6 Sep 2023 | Profitability period 2023 | “"The company is reportedly profitable, but much of its revenue goes toward more computing power."” The Decoder relaying The Information's anonymously sourced report. | The Decoder [4] The Information [5] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 1 Oct 2022 | Team size period 2022 | “"We have 11 full-time staff and an incredible set of advisors."” Company website text as captured by the Wayback Machine on 2022-10-01. The page itself is undated. The same page lists David Holz under 'Executives', eight first names under 'Research and Engineering', and two names under 'Legal and Finance' (one marked as legal advisor). It is unclear whether Holz is counted among the 11. | Midjourney [3] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 1 Aug 2022 | Team size period 2022-08 | “"We're like about 10 people"” Founder statement made in two interviews on consecutive days: The Register (2022-08-01) and The Verge (2022-08-02, 'we're like 10 people, we have no investors'). It is unclear whether Holz is counted, so this is recorded as total_team_size and not employee_count. The Register also reports 'about 40 moderators keeping an eye on the images'. Their employment status is not stated, and the company website at the time listed 'Discord Moderators and Guides' by community handle, so they are not counted here. | The Register [1] The Verge [2] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 1 Aug 2022 | Funding raised period 2022-08 | “"We're self-funded. We have no investors."” Founder statement to The Register, repeated to The Verge ('we have no investors'). The company website (Oct 2022 capture) said: 'We are a small self-funded team'. | The Register [1] The Verge [2] Midjourney [3] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
| 1 Aug 2022 | Profitability period 2022-08 | “"To be honest, we're already profitable, and we're fine."” Founder statement to The Register. | The Register [1] | C Grade C · First-party Founder or company statements, including dashboards they control.
|
Data quality
How much of this is verified
- Sources
- 15
- 10 independent
- Observations
- 20
- Verified (A/B)
- 4
- First-party (C)
- 8
- Weak (D)
- 8
Unknown fields
- Valuation
- Contractors
- Founder hours
- Workflow automation share
- Autonomy map
Verified 16 Oct 2026Next review 14 Jan 2027
Open questions
What we could not verify
- Current headcount. Forbes lists 60 as of April 2026 without a stated basis, aggregators give 40-45 or 107, and the Co-Star team (size unverified; one trade site says 'around two dozen') joined in 2026.
- Actual 2024 and 2025 revenue. Midjourney denied earning $300M in 2024 but gave no alternative figure, and the widely cited $500M 2025 figure is an aggregator estimate.
- Whether the ~40 Discord moderators reported in 2022 were paid contractors, employees or volunteers.
- The exact publication date and full contents of The Information's 2023 profile (paywalled).
- Whether the August 2025 Meta licensing deal involved any equity or investment (terms undisclosed; Holz said there are still no investors).
- No source describes material use of AI agents in Midjourney's internal operations; its leanness appears to come from a small human team selling a compute-heavy subscription product.
Sources
Sources
- [1]
The Register. Holz, founder of AI art service Midjourney, on future images
Press interview · Published 1 Aug 2022 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By Thomas Claburn. Quotes the founder directly (first-party content).
- [2]
Press interview · Published 2 Aug 2022 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By James Vincent. Q&A format (first-party content). Page retrieved with curl because WebFetch is blocked for this domain.
- [3]
Midjourney. Midjourney (home/about page)
Company website · Published undated · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Read via Wayback Machine snapshot of 2022-10-01: http://web.archive.org/web/20221001135333/https://www.midjourney.com/home/ . The live site returned 403.
- [4]
The Decoder. Midjourney generates $200 million in revenue and adds Web support with v6
Independent press · Published 6 Sep 2023 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By Matthias Bastian. Relays The Information ('which cites a source close to the company'); no independent reporting of its own.
- [5]
The Information. 'He Doesn't Need VC in His Life': How Midjourney's Founder Built an AI Winner While Rejecting Venture Capital
Independent press · Published undated · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By Kate Clark. Paywalled: only the headline and byline were visible. The publication date is not visible but must be on or before 2023-09-06, when The Decoder cited it. Figures come from The Decoder's summary.
- [6]
U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP). Complaint, Disney Enterprises, Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-05275 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · Published 11 Jun 2025 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations, not findings. The revenue figures in paragraph 74 cite TechCrunch, DemandSage and SEO.AI in footnote 3.
- [7]
U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP). Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376 (C.D. Cal.), Dkt. 1
Regulatory filing · Published 4 Sep 2025 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Plaintiffs' allegations. Paragraph 61 is the one Midjourney's answer responds to (admitted except the 2024 revenue figure).
- [8]
U.S. District Court, Central District of California (via CourtListener RECAP). Defendant Midjourney, Inc.'s Answer to Complaint, Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. et al. v. Midjourney, Inc., No. 2:25-cv-08376-JAK-E, Dkt. 15
Regulatory filing · Published 7 Oct 2025 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Filed by Cooley LLP for Midjourney. Its response to paragraph 61: 'Midjourney denies that it earned $300 million in 2024. Midjourney admits the remaining allegations in paragraph 61.'
- [9]
X (@DavidSHolz). David Holz post on X, 22 Aug 2025
Social post · Published 22 Aug 2025 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Text read via the api.fxtwitter.com mirror of this post ID. The post URL was taken from TechCrunch's article.
- [10]
TechCrunch. Meta partners with Midjourney on AI image and video models
Independent press · Published 22 Aug 2025 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By Maxwell Zeff. States that Midjourney 'has never taken on outside funding'. Its revenue reference ('on pace to generate $200 million' by 2023) cites The Information.
- [11]
Forbes. Midjourney company profile
Database · Published 16 Apr 2026 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Profile 'Last Updated Apr 16, 2026'. Lists Employees 60 (as of April 2026), $300M FY2024 revenue 'according to PitchBook', says the company 'is profitable' and 'has so far shunned any outside funding'. The basis for the headcount is not disclosed.
- [12]
Latka (GetLatka). Midjourney revenue, employees (Latka company page)
Database · Published 13 Oct 2026 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Aggregator. publishedAt is the page's 'updated' date. Mixes reported figures and estimates, and contains internal inconsistencies.
- [13]
Sacra. Midjourney revenue, funding & news
Database · Published undated · Checked 16 Oct 2026
Undated research/aggregator page. Revenue is labelled a Sacra estimate. The '$50.00M' funding figure contradicts the page's own 'self-funded' text.
- [14]
Midjourney (updates blog). Midjourney's First Acquisition
Founder statement · Published 23 Jul 2026 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
First-person post by David Holz announcing the Co-Star acquisition. Gives no headcount or deal terms.
- [15]
Bloomberg News (via Bloomberg Law). AI Lab Midjourney Buys Astrology Startup Co-Star, Plans New Apps
Independent press · Published 24 Jul 2026 · Checked 16 Oct 2026
By Natalie Lung. Only the opening paragraphs were visible: 'The previously unreported acquisition closed this spring, Midjourney said.' Financial terms not disclosed.